Let’s Talk About Gluten

We invite you to join us here for interesting news and information related to health and other exciting topics about Santa Barbara Bar.

For our first post, we want to respond to a concern raised by several of our Santa Barbara Bar  consumers:

I suffer from Celiac decease and I want to know if I can be certain that your nutrition bars do not contain gluten. You use oats in the bars and claim your bars are gluten free.

Answer:

We appreciate the opportunity to weigh in on the discussion about the use of oats and gluten-free claims.Certified Gluten-Free Nutrition Bars

We are certified gluten-free by the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO), but we cannot claim that everybody who suffers from gluten intolerance will be free of symptoms after eating our bars.

Here’s what we mean:

Oats do not contain gluten and are not in the gluten-containing grain family that includes wheat, rye, and barley.

For the vast majority of celiac disease sufferers, it is our understanding that the main concern is the risk of consuming oats that have been contaminated with gluten-containing grains such as wheat. In some cases, oats can come in contact with wheat that is growing in fields close by; they can become contaminated during processing in mills; and they can be contaminated during transportation.

Today, many growers have dedicated fields to the cultivation of oats alone. These growers also use equipment not shared with gluten containing grains. Many oat processing mills and transportation companies have policies and practices in place that prevent any chance of cross- contamination with gluten-containing grains. These facilities are inspected by the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO), one of the world’s leading gluten-free certification programs..

The good news is that oats used in our Santa Barbara Bar have been certified gluten-free by GFCO and carry the GFCO gluten free-stamp. The manufacturing of our bars takes place in a GFCO certified gluten-free facility.

According to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, pure and non-contaminated oats can be consumed safely in limited quantities by adults and children alike.  But even though celiac disease societies consider gluten-free oats to be safe, there is still a small number of people who react to a protein in oats called avenin that may trigger abdominal symptoms.

To be really sure if you are able to tolerate oats please consult with your physician.

So are non-contaminated gluten-free oats 100% safe for people with celiac disease?

The general consensus among medical experts points in the direction that pure, non-contaminated oats should not result in physical symptoms or side effects for most, but not all, people suffering from celiac disease.

For further readings on the topic we recommend the following sites:

www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/do-oats-contain-gluten

www.celiac.com/articles/22470/1/Should-Celiacs-Eat-Oats-Depends-on-the-oat/Page1.html

www.mdpi.com/2072-6643/5/11/4380

www.celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/a/OatsForCeliacs.htm

www.weareglutenfree.com/cross-reactive-foods-to-gluten/